Presiding Officer announces membership of Commission on Parliamentary Reform


The membership of the independent Commission on Parliamentary Reform has today been announced.

Comprising five cross-party politicians and five individuals from outwith Holyrood and Westminster circles, Presiding Officer Ken Macintosh MSP said the group will be well placed to take the Scottish Parliament back to its roots in being open, transparent and truly participative.

Chaired by John McCormick, the members of the Commission will be as follows:

  • Katie Burke MSYP, member of the Scottish Youth Parliament For North East Fife, and former Chair of the Scottish Youth Parliament
  • Pam Duncan–Glancy, Disability Equality and Human Rights Activist 
  • The Very Rev Dr Lorna Hood, Moderator of the General Assembly of the Church of Scotland (2013-14), former Church of Scotland Minister 
  • Geoff Mawdsley, Director of Reform Scotland 
  • Professor Boyd Robertson, Principal of Sabhal Mòr Ostaig, UHI, the National Centre for Gaelic Language and Culture.

The following members were nominated by their political party:

  • Scottish National Party: Fiona McLeod former MSP for Strathkelvin and Bearsden (2011-2016)
  • Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party: Jackson Carlaw MSP for Eastwood 
  • Scottish Labour: Johann Lamont MSP for Glasgow 
  • Scottish Green Party: John Finnie MSP for Highlands and Islands 
  • Scottish Liberal Democrats: Jeremy Purvis, former MSP for Tweeddale, Ettrick and Lauderdale (2003-2011).

Scottish Parliament Presiding Officer Ken Macintosh MSP said:

“I’m delighted to be able to announce the line-up for the Independent Commission on Parliamentary Reform.

“This is a great mix of individuals, each with a different skill set and background, but collectively, I am confident they will have the wisdom and experience to take the Parliament back to its roots in being open, transparent, and truly participative.” 

Background information

The Presiding Officer first announced the independent commission on 26 October 2016:

The Commission’s remit is to consider ways in which the Parliament can:

  • be assured it has the right checks and balances in place for the effective conduct of parliamentary business; 
  • increase its engagement with wider society and the public; and 
  • clarify its identity as distinct from the Scottish Government.

The non-political members of the Commission were selected by the Presiding Officer. 

Contact information

Media information

Public information

Keep up to date with us on:

keep up to date with what's happening in Parliament on Facebook Follow the Scottish Parliament on Twitter @ScotParl keep up to date with what's 
happening in Parliament on YouTube

This website is using cookies.
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.