Eco-schools come to Holyrood


Schools from across Scotland will come to Holyrood on Monday to discuss environmental issues and share ideas and initiatives they are undertaking at their schools.

The event has been organised as part of the international Eco-Schools initiative, designed to encourage school-wide action for the environment.

In the morning breakout sessions, guest speakers from the Peebles Transition Town movement and Eco-Schools will facilitate interactive sessions to allow pupils to explore how the work of these two organisations is relevant to their own schools and towns, and to share ideas about future projects.

The pupils will then return to the Debating Chamber to debate these issues through a Question Time panel chaired by Deputy Presiding Officer Alasdair Morgan MSP. Panel members are:

  • Sacha Corby from Inverkeithing High School in Fife
  • Samantha King from Peebles High School in the Borders
  • Andrew McCabe from Kyle Academy in South Ayrshire
  • Kyle Thornton from Bellahouston Academy in Glasgow
  • Paul Cortopassi, Secondary Schools Development Officer from Eco-Schools Scotland

In the afternoon, pupils from Bellahouston Academy will run three short, energetic workshops. These will help to spark debate, allowing pupils to explore different aspects of the Eco-Schools programme, and relating their school’s work to the bigger environmental picture.

Eco-Schools is an international initiative designed to encourage whole-school action for the environment. Schools – led by a pupil committee – work to achieve a Green Flag award.

The primary aim of the programme is to promote active citizenship and encourage young people to believe they can make a difference. Scotland has some of the highest participation rates in the world with 2,885 (94%) of schools registered with the programme and 747 (23%) having received a Green Flag award.

Eco-Schools operates in 46 countries around the world and has the support of the United Nations and European Union.

Schools taking part:

  • Alness Academy - Alness
  • Beath High School - Cowdenbeath
  • Bellahouston Academy - Glasgow
  • Campbeltown Grammar - Campbeltown
  • Douglas Academy - Milngavie, Glasgow
  • George Watson's College - Edinburgh
  • Glasgow Gaelic School - Glasgow
  • Grove Academy - Dundee
  • Inverclyde Academy - Greenock
  • Inverkeithing High School - Inverkeithing
  • James Hamilton Academy - Kilmarnock
  • John Paul Academy - Glasgow
  • Kirkcaldy High School - Kirkcaldy
  • Kirkcudbright Academy - Kirkcudbright
  • Knightswood Secondary - Glasgow
  • Knox Academy - Haddington
  • Kyle Academy - Ayr
  • Lockerbie Academy - Lockerbie
  • Mackie Academy - Stonehaven
  • Meldrum Academy - Inverurie
  • Montrose Academy - Montrose
  • Peebles High School - Peebles
  • Perth Grammar School - Perth
  • St Machar Academy - Aberdeen
  • St Maurice's High School - Cumbernauld
  • St Mungo's Academy - Glasgow
  • Torry Academy - Aberdeen
  • Tynecastle High School - Edinburgh
  • Viewforth High School - Kirkcaldy
  • Wellington School - Ayr
This website is using cookies.
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.