Modern Studies students talk justice at Holyrood


Law and order is the focus for more than 150 sixth year pupils taking part in the Advanced Higher Modern Studies Conference event tomorrow (Friday 16 November) at Holyrood. Included in the programme is an opportunity for Justice Committee Convener Christine Grahame MSP to be cross-examined about the role of the Justice Committee in the legislative process.

The Conference, which will be chaired by Deputy Presiding Officer Elaine Smith MSP, aims to support students studying Advanced Higher Modern Studies and researching Law and Order themed dissertations.

Deputy Presiding Officer Elaine Smith MSP, who is chairing the event, said:

“In the past few years, this event has grown in popularity with students and teachers alike and I look forward to welcoming young people from right across Scotland to the Parliament’s Chamber. This conference is a unique opportunity for school pupils to meet with and question some of Scotland’s key individuals and organisations in the field of law and order.”

Speaking ahead of the event, Ms Grahame said:

“The Justice Committee has supported this event since it began in 2010 as it offers great insight into young people’s thinking around legal matters. I am proud to once again support the Modern Studies students in developing responsible and considered approaches to justice themes. Seeing their views and opinions develop and evolve during the workshops is always interesting.”

Among those joining the Justice Committee Convener in delivering seminars to the students will be:

  • The Cabinet Secretary for Justice, Kenny MacAskill MSP - talking about the criminal justice system.
  • John McTaggart from Modernity Scotland - talking about the Electoral System and the US election.
  • Alan Britton from Glasgow University School of Education - talking about the role of Central and Devolved Government.
  • Dr Elaine Webster, lecturer at the University of Strathclyde - talking about Scotland's relationship with the European Convention on Human Rights.
  • Members of the Commission on Women Offenders.

In addition to the key note speakers, the pupils will have an opportunity to talk to the Parliament’s team of researchers, and representatives from Scottish Youth Parliament, Young Scot, Scottish Commission for Children and Young People, The UK Parliament Education Service, Young Scot, United Nations Association, Education Scotland and Modernity Scotland.


The Parliament’s Education Service has liaised with the Justice Committee and Cabinet Secretary for Justice to stage a workshop for Advanced Higher Modern Studies students since 2010. The event proved so popular with pupils that the Education Service staged an online ‘GLOW Meet’ via the school’s intranet in 2011 to cater to demand. This year’s event is enabling more than 150 pupils to take part directly.

Among the schools taking part in the event are:

  • Duncanrig Secondary School, East Kilbride
  • Cults Academy, Aberdeen
  • Glenrothes High School
  • Dunbar Grammar School
  • Harlaw Academy, Aberdeen
  • Bearsden Academy
  • Hazelhead Academy, Aberdeen
  • Kirkcaldy High School
  • Aberdeen Grammar
  • Albyn School, Aberdeen
  • St Margaret's Academy, West Lothian
  • Cumbernauld High School
  • Bucksburn academy, Aberdeen
  • North Berwick High School
  • Greenfaulds High, Cumbernauld
  • St Margaret’s School for Girls, Aberdeen
  • Banff Academy
  • St Ninian’s High, Kirkintilloch
  • Kirkintilloch High
  • Bridge of Don Academy
  • Milne’s High School, Fochabers
  • Crieff High
  • Lossiemouth High

Photographs of the event will be available free of charge through the Parliament’s official photographer. Please contact Andrew Cowan on 0131 348 5878 / [email protected]
Images will be available at:
Event: Modern Studies Summit
Password: 16nov2012

Contact information


          Public information

  • Telephone: 0800 092 7500
  • Textphone users can contact us on 0800 092 7100
  • We also welcome calls using the Text Relay service
  • Text message: 07786 209888
    [email protected]

          You can also follow us on twitter @scotparl

This website is using cookies.
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.