Airdrie-Bathgate Railway and Linked Improvements Bill


Outcome: E

A Bill for an Act of the Scottish Parliament to authorise the construction of new railways between Drumgelloch and Bathgate, including new stations at Caldercruix and Armadale; to authorise the use of land for relocated stations at Drumgelloch and Bathgate; to authorise related improvements to the existing railways between Airdrie and Drumgelloch and Bathgate and Edinburgh; to regularise the operation of certain enactments relating to the existing railway affected by the works so authorised; and for connected purposes.

Current Status of the Bill

The Bill received Royal Assent on 8 May 2007.

Introduction of the Bill

The Bill was introduced by Network Rail Infrastructure Limited on 30 May 2006

Accompanying documents:


Research Briefings on Bill

Objection period

Objection period: 31/05/2006 to 31/07/2006

List of Objections

The following have lodged objections to the Airdrie-Bathgate Railway and Linked Improvements Bill under Rule 9A.6.1 and Rule 9A.6.5:

 1.    Rowan Timber Supplies

 2.    William Forbes

 3.    Jamesina Kerr

 4.    Rod Tweedie

 5.    Karen Whitefield MSP

 6.    Mr & Mrs McCracken

 7.    Derek & Jan Gamble

 8.    James Purdon

 9.    Mr & Mrs Nagel

 10. North Lanarkshire Access Forum

 11. Mr & Mrs Hawthorne & Mr & Mrs White

 12. Mr & Mrs Sim

 13. Antony Shaw

 14. N & S Watson & J Smith

 15. Andrew Purdon

 16. Reactivise Ltd

 17. J Campbell

 18. Tusker Developments Ltd

 19. Mrs E McFarlane & Mr D Sweeney

 20. Andrew & Cornelia Macvicar

 21. George McNeil

 22. George & Moira Jamieson

 23. Monklands Sailing Club

 24. Airdrie & District Angling Club

 25. Platform Blackridge

 26. Donaldson Motors

 27. Mr & Mrs McNaughton

 28. Mary Mulligan MSP

 29. M & S A Danyluk

 30. Messrs J & J Brewster

 31. Jean Harris

 32. Residents of Station Road

 33. R Orr

 34. David Gray Sibbald

 35. P McGraw

 36. J Gilchrist

 37. J Orr

 38. J Strickland

 39. Mr & Mrs Sommerville

 40. Messrs David Dalling

 41. Mrs M Ferguson

 42. Mr & Mrs Donald

 43. Mary Bernadette Dugan

 44. Andrew White Mackie

 45. Mr & Mrs Riddell

 46. Bathgate Golf Club

 47. Weslo Housing Management

 48. Mrs J Jack & Mr A Jack Jnr

 49. Jamie Ross & Lynne Abbott

 50. M Weir & J Weir

 51. William Peacock

 52. Mr & Mrs Fisher

 53. CTC & Spokes

 54. Messrs Robert Robertson

 55. Walter Dandie

 56. Scottish Agricultural Science Agency

 57. Oatridge College

 58. A Millar

 59. A.G Allison & Trustees of Allison Trust

 60. The Woodland Trust

 61. Scotland Gas Networks Plc

 62. Standard Life

 63. Buchanan Homes

 64. Aptuit (Edinburgh) Ltd

 65. Hewden Stuart Plc

 66. Edgar Allen Ltd

 67. Sibcas (Holdings) Ltd

 68. O2 (UK) Ltd

 69. Caledonia Homes (Bathgate 1)

 70. Caledonia Homes (Bathgate 2)

 71. Tarmac Ltd

 72. Maple Oak Ltd

 73. BRB (Residuary)

 74. Hallam Land Management

 75. Henderson Global Investors

 76. Premier Property Group Ltd

 77. Tesco Stores Ltd


Consideration Stage

Airdrie-Bathgate Railway and Linked Improvements Bill Committee:

European protected species Report (Airdrie-Bathgate Railway and Linked Improvements Bill Committee) published on 5 March 2007

Consideration Stage Report (Airdrie-Bathgate Railway and Linked Improvements Bill Committee) published on 5 March 2007

Airdrie-Bathgate Railway and Linked Improvements Bill Committee Official Report from:

Final Stage

Parliament (Final Stage) on 28 March 2007   

Bill passed on 28 March 2007

Passage of Bill:

Received Royal Assent 8 May 2007

This website is using cookies.
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.