Section G: Bills

Proposal for a Members’ Bill

A member seeking to introduce a Member’s Bill must first lodge a draft proposal, together with a consultation document (or a statement of reasons why consultation is not considered necessary). Subsequently, the member may lodge a final proposal, in broadly similar terms to the draft, accompanied by a summary of consultation responses (or the statement of reasons). The member secures the right to introduce a Bill to give effect to the proposal if the final proposal secures, within one month, the support of at least 18 other members from at least half the political parties or groups represented in the Parliamentary Bureau, and provided no indication is given that the Scottish Government or UK Government is planning equivalent legislation.

All current proposals (together with associated documents) are available on the Scottish Parliament website at:

Current Final Proposals

Names marked with an asterisk (*) are new names of support. Where a proposal has secured the necessary level of cross-party support, the supporters’ names are shown in bold.

Iain Gray: Proposed Bus Regulation (Scotland) Bill—Proposal for a Bill to extend the powers of transport authorities to regulate bus services through (a) quality contract schemes, (b) quality partnership schemes, and (c) ticketing schemes; and to extend the powers of the Traffic Commissioner in relation to the registration of bus services. (lodged on 4 December 2014)

The proposal was accompanied by a summary of consultation responses, which may be viewed in the Scottish Parliament Information Centre (SPICe) or on the website page referred to above. Individual responses may also be viewed in SPICe.

Supported by: Elaine Murray, Alex Rowley, Ken Macintosh, John Wilson, Jayne Baxter, David Stewart, Michael McMahon, Hugh Henry, Jackie Baillie, Margaret McCulloch, James Kelly, Anne McTaggart, Kezia Dugdale, Neil Bibby, Siobhan McMahon, Richard Baker, Hanzala Malik, Rhoda Grant, Malcolm Chisholm, Sarah Boyack, Patricia Ferguson, Margaret McDougall, Neil Findlay, Graeme Pearson, Patrick Harvie, Tavish Scott, Mary Fee, Elaine Smith, Claudia Beamish, Paul Martin, Duncan McNeil, Cara Hilton, Mark Griffin, John Pentland, Lewis Macdonald, Drew Smith, Jenny Marra, Claire Baker, Johann Lamont, Richard Simpson

Back to top

This website is using cookies.
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.